question re 3" lift on 1st gen Tundra

skiroc

Observer
I just found a 2006 Tundra with 60k miles. Original owner, looks beautiful. But... it has a 3"lift. I don't know anything about these things, prefer stock, so am wondering what this lift might mean for performance, stability on mild off-road, mpg. I am buying the truck for a FWC pop-up camper.

The owner describes it like this in an email:
"It is a 3" suspension lift sold by Fat Bob's Garage. It is a very simple lift to install and remove. I put it in myself (I was a mechanic for 8 years) without a lift and using hand tools in about 2 hours total. There are spacers attached to the top of the front struts and spacer blocks between the rear axle and leaf spring. It would take about 2 hours to remove. However, you should really see the truck before writing off the lift. It is a very mild lift, and is actually more of a leveling kit. The truck looks much better with it installed and it handles and drives just the same.

What do you all think?

Buy it and leave as is, or remove?
Or walk and keep looking for another truck?

Ryanmb21

Expedition Leader
A spacer lift would not deter me at all from buying the truck. The advice he is telling you sounds like a pretty good assessment. Sounds like it could be a gem

Derek24

Explorer
If its clean then go for it. One place to look is at the front CV boots, check to see if they are ripped and throwing grease. If they are, you can mention that and hopefully get a better price. Also the upper ball-joint boots are another place to check for rips and such. Nice thing about it being a spacer lift is that its easy to remove forever, and what I would do.

upcountry

Explorer
Agree with the above. Could be a great purchase.