Thinking About A Jeep Commander Who Has One?

cbckidatheart

I have been researching vehicles heavily for about six months. I have considered everything in the U.S. Market. Land Cruisers are just crazy expensive where I live. People want 13k+ for vehicles with 250k plus miles. I need the third row of seats for family. I am strongly considering one of the V8 Commanders. Anyone have experience with these. How do they perform off road? Reliability? Looking for first hand experience of possible.

Thanks

mallthus

Pretty good at some stuff
I've driven a few, albeit as rental cars. My recollections are as follows.

- Gutless with the V6.
- Cargo space is poor with the third row folded.
- Cargo space is non-existent with the third row deployed.
- Interior is a reminder of all that was wrong with Chrysler in the Daimler-Chrysler and Chrysler LLC days.

Dake21

Adventurer
Took one for drive, it was not really impressive and it had less practical cargo room than the 2007 Honda CRV I had back then. I'm not kidding, the CRV felt roomier. Third row seats are good for kids maybe, but if you use the 2nd row then it's impossible for them to access it and when folded up you have zero visibility.

Ryan Graham

I owned the AEV Iceland commander for about a year. I sold it but was so impressed with the drivetrain, I purchased an 05 grand Cherokee a couple months ago. The interiors are generic and plastic (the commander is nicer than the grand) but there is aftermarket support if you look. If you decide to get one, get the Hemi and the quadradrive 2 4wd system in the latest model year you can afford (09/10)

Mitch502

Explorer
There is a reason why Land Cruisers are expensive.

If I were going to be doing any form of off technical road and needed third row, I'd get a LC. If I were just going to go camping done and didn't want to spend a lot of money, a Durango maybe?

cbckidatheart