F-150 Suspension recommendations please!

jnelson4x4taco

Adventurer
Looking for suspension recommendations for my 2016 F150. Theres so many options and im new to the F150 game so im hoping someone can help point me in the right direction. Ill try and be as specific about my truck and needs without being too wordy ( I have a habit of that).

Truck: 2016 F150 4x4 XLT crew cab short bed, max tow, 3.5 ecoboost. Bilstein 5100 rear shocks and Timbren progresssive bump stops in the rear. Wears a topper year round and we recently added a RTT that will be on during the warm months.

Needs: This truck spends the majority of its life on pavement, but we do haul a 30ft travel trailer a handful of times a year (8-10), and also like to do day trips and hit up some forest service roads/ mild trails. We added the RTT so we had an option to do quick getaways when we dont have camper reservations or want to be more spontaneous with our two boys.

I realize that towing performance and off road performance dont always mean the same thing, but this is the truck that I have, and a dedicated tow rig/off road rig is out of the question. Im hoping to find something that bridges those two and offers a mild lift (~2 inches) for some more aggressive tires.

Budget: Fairly open. I want it done right. Im big on value, not on name brand so Im willing to pay for quality parts, not bling.

Appreciate the feedback and suggestions! I am really excited to do some more "real" camping and get my family off the pavement a little more!

-Jeff

Huck

how much tongue weight do you experience with the 30ft trailer? if it's as high as I imagine, it might be worth combining airbags in the rear with a nice setup like any of the middle ground coilover packages (e.g. bilstein 6112/5160, etc.)

Jupiter58

What Huck said. Put the suspension you prefer in built for all the uses but the towing. Add the airbags for the times you want to tow and you have the best of both worlds.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk