What Toyota truck for Box Camper build?

abiker

Hey all,

I want to build a small and light camper for family use, preferably on a Toyota platform. It would mostly be something small to get outside in more often, not something we'd wheel hard or take overseas. I have experience with TIG welding, composite layups, CAD and FEA, so the 'box' part of the build seems a fun project. I probably have many weaknesses in this project, but one that stands out to me is picking which vehicle to start with. This week's inspiration is the Double Cab Maltec below:

DCLB Maltec.png
It's obviously not cheap, hard to get in the US, probably had the frame extended, but very capable and reliable. I think I need to scale back from something that ambitious.

I've been the owner of at T100 and 1st Gen Tundra for about 17 years combined - 14 years with a Flippac. Both were Access Cabs. I've done a lot of my own work on them, but I'm not an expert, I just follow the manual... slowly. Here's a photo of the current house on wheels.

Paradise Lakes.jpg

I will have many problems down the road and anticipate making a build thread, but today's problem is the truck. Here are the highlights of what I'm thinking:

1. 2009-2015 Double Cab 6.5' 2nd Gen Tacoma
    1. Pros: Great aftermarket support, full "double cab"
    2. Cons: Payload. Probably not great as a tow vehicle
  2. 2006 Double Cab 6.5' 1st Gen Tundra
    1. Pros: Familiar, good cab size, full roll down rear window may be a future pass thru
    2. Cons: Old - already 16 years old, finding a suitable used vehicle.
  3. ~2015 Double Cab 6.5' Bed 2.5 Gen Tundra
    1. Pros: Newer, will probably run forever
    2. Cons: Definitely concerned about Cab Size w/ 2 kids, dog, etc. Payload? Pricey in current market.
  4. 2022 Crew Max 6.5' Bed Tundra
    1. Pros: Biggest Cab + Biggest Bed, Comfy, quiet, modern, capable.
    2. Cons: Crazy expensive for a 'project vehicle', probably would also be a daily driver for that reason.