electrical help requested - adding aux power

buldyourown

Observer
I have an '07 Tacoma DC TRD Sport.
My long term plan is add a second battery with an isolator from Wrangler NW.
I have several accessories that I'd like to wire up before the xmas holiday road trip. I don't really have the time or the money to do the double battery properly before then.
I also plan on adding a blue sea fuse block as my distribution panel for all these new toys. What would be the proper way to wire in the fuse block now, and still leave it ready for the double battery later. I don't want to do anything twice. My initial plan was to simply run a 8ga wire from the battery all the way to the fuse block and mount it behind the rear seat. Then I realized that all my new stuff would be hot when the truck was off. This would be a sure fire way for me to kill my battery.
How can I make the block be energized only when the key is on acc?

Thanks for any help. This may sound like a total newb question, but I just want to make sure I get it right on the first try.

Tyler

Robthebrit

Explorer
How much power are your aux devices taking? You probably can't find a high power acc switched source so I would get a 50A relay and wire the coil side to pretty much anything I could find that is switched with the ignition, hunt around the fuse box. Wire the power side of the relay directly to the battery via a master fuse or breaker and then on to your aux fuse panel.

In the future remove the relay and wire the fuse box directly to the aux battery. Given that the relay is already there you can get creative and use the relay to switch between aux power and main battery power allowing you to drive your aux devices from either battery.