New to bikes and know nothing.

pugslyyy

Expedition Vehicle Engineer Guy
New as in 'have signed up to take the class to get the motorcycle endorsement on my license, but have not actually taken the class yet'. Not new to offroad (in my Land Rovers) or 2 wheels (human powered) if that counts for anything...

I'm going to be looking for a bike that I can carry with me on my RV - not for single track, more for getting around once the RV is set up and I don't want to move it. For me (right now) that means light/cheap/street legal. I'm 6'3" and 185-lbs.

Any advice for a complete noob?

Thanks!

Longtallsally

Adventurer
Yamaha WR250R if you ever plan on doing dirt. 250x if you want to be a street hooligan. Beyond that, there are a million bikes and threads out there- do some searching on various forums or general searches and one will speak to you. Get the endorsement, take an MSF course, and read "A Twist of the Wrist" by Keith Code.

Most importantly, budget a minimum of $2k for a full set of riding gear if you are serious. In the case of riding gear, IMO, you get what you pay for. Meaning; if it is cheap, it is cheap.

Ozrockrat

Expedition Leader
Check out the Yamaha TW200. Light weight, big tires for the soft stuff and enough inroad manners for grocery duty. An other alternative if only using as a short haul solo grocery getter is the old CT90 or CT110 Hondas.

Both of these have a cult following and parts are available worldwide.

ExpoScout

Explorer
I'm tall also and ended up wanting a 250. After checking out several options the super sherpa was the only sub-400cc bike I could find (in my price range...and good for a complete new guy) that fit me pretty well. Might be something to look at. Not only that but they have a pretty much bombproof reputation.

pugslyyy