bike beginner

98sr5

Observer
ok im new to bikes and want to get a dirt bike/commuter for riding around its gotta be street legal and be offroadable. what are your guys thoughts on this what would be a good beginner bike for cheap like 3-4000. my reasoning is its cheaper and more fun to get a bike then a corolla or something else for a commuter. the speed limit on the roads i travel on are like 55 tops.

I’m not a big fan of the ‘dual sport’ bikes available from most of the manufacturers, so I can’t really recommend a bike to you that is ready for both off-road and street use right out the door. However, I might recommend a four-stroke off-road bike, then going through the process of legalizing it for street use. Depending on your state’s laws, this process can vary from pretty easy (such as adding a Baja kit and some DOT tires) to nearly impossible.

I have a Honda CRF 250X, and have found it to be a reliable and capable bike both off and on road. With your budget, you should be able to pick one up that is only a couple of years old.

goodtimes

Expedition Poseur
How much on road vs how much off road?

Quantify "off road". (blowing down single track, cruising down forest roads, something in between?)

How far between gas stations while off road?

Anything you just "can't live without"?

General rule of thumb: All bikes are fun. Some are more fun off road than others...but those which are more fun off road tend to be less fun on the road. Off road light and tall is good...on the road, heavy and low is good. Get something that has a range compatible with what you need...but don't forget about aftermarket tanks...

I am very happy with my BMW, but I spend probably 75% of my time on the pavement (commuting), and when I am in the dirt, it is usually forest roads, which somewhat resemble real roads...so a heavy bike with a less than inspiring suspension does fine.

As with most things, there is no one "right" answer.

98sr5

Observer