In serch of dependable old school Dual Sport for a nubie

texas taco

Adventurer
I am wanting to get into the two wheel end of overland travel. I have little dirt bike experience, and alot on mountain bike experience. I would like something inexpensive but reliable. I was looking at late 80s early 90 air cooled BMW Gs. I saw i think it was hilltoppers for sale on another forum. I think something like that is up my alley. Are there any inherent problems with those bikes i need to be aware of? What is yalls take on this?
Thanks.....

Last edited:

goodtimes

Expedition Poseur
First, decide what kind of travel you are going to be doing....if you will be leaning towards the rougher end of things, look for a lighter bike. BMW's are heavy....which makes them a lot of work when the going gets rough. Of course, that weight makes them much more comfortable getting to/from the trail. When the trail gets rough, plan on having to pick that bike up...over and over and over. It only takes a couple times before picking up a (fully loaded) 550 pound 650GS before I am keeping my eyes open for smoother terrain...

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
The older GSs (R80/R100) are great bikes. Yes, they do suffer from some issues, but in general will run forever. Generally, the charging systems are known to be problematic, as the diode board or stator will die.... Easily fixed with a couple of upgrades (about $600). The paralever (1988+) driveshafts on the airheads are known to fail at about 25-30K, due to the construction having a rubber "insert", presumably for shock dampering.

Advrider has a bunch of posts on airheads, too...

-H-

Speaker

Adventurer
96+ Dr-650.

Aircooled, very easy to work on, e-start, lighter than a BMW for sure, good aftermarket... yada yada

Hltoppr

El Gringo Spectacular!
Speaker said:
96+ Dr-650.

Aircooled, very easy to work on, e-start, lighter than a BMW for sure, good aftermarket... yada yada