"New" Montero Sport owner

happywanderer

Hello all,

I'm new here to the site, new to the Montero and new to overlanding. I'm a walking newbie tri-fecta. I bought my little Monty Sport a couple of weeks back as a project car which actually means I bought a well used (129K miles) sport with the cash I had left from...well, that's a long sad story and no need to kill the forum buzz. In short it will be my DD as well as off-roader. I'm here looking for general information and to meet some well informed Sport owners.

I'd been looking at several makes but the brands I liked at a price I cold afford were just too beat up. I did quite a bit of research and I know that the engines and drivetrains are strong on these vehicles. I also liked the all wheel drive system. Unfortunately there are no maintenance records for this car but Carfax does not show any
reported accidents. It goes pretty well but it does idle rough, even after the throttle body was cleaned out. The handling is a bit vague, which seems normal for the truck. But I have to say i like it. I don't know exactly why but do.

Fix it list:

a) New tires - The ones on her are at the wear bar. Given most of my driving will be on pavement, I'm considering Goodyear Silent Armor or Firestone Destination A/T. Suggestions welcome.

b) New shocks- Again, suggestions from the pros welcome.

c) Timing belt and water pump. I'm assuming this has not been done given that there are no maintenance records.

d) Lift? Nothing too radical and I'm not fully sure its necessary. I'm not building a crawler here.

e) Bull bar and new rear bumper, skid plates, etc. I haven't found much in the way of after market stuff so if anyone knows where these things
can be had, please share.

All right, enough from me. I look forward to picking your collective brain as I turn this beastie into something more overland worthy.

off-roader

Expedition Leader
Hello all,