My Taco Phoenix Pop Up Camper

MYTACO

Adventurer

Just over a year ago (November 2012), we began the ordering process for our Phoenix Pop Up Camper…and ultimately picked it up in March 2013. Prior to November 2012, we researched the heck out of what we wanted--literally for more than three years. Having gone through the process painstakingly, we thought it might be helpful to share what we've learned throughout the last year.

BACKGROUND: I am an Army vet/retired after 26 years. My last tour was in Afghanistan, and while there one of the posters on the wall was of the U.S. and various pictures of famous places: Mount Rushmore, Statue of Liberty, Golden Gate Bridge, Grand Canyon… After staring at it for almost 12 months, I realized that I had seen more of the world than my own country. We knew we didn't want to fly, and we certainly did not want to confine ourselves to the interstate system. That being said, I also did not want to "rough it" with a ruck sack… So in 2009, we started researching with that foundation. We looked at Class B RVs and ultimately looked at the pop up camper selections. We've owned Tacomas throughout the years…and wanted to build on that vehicle.

Initially I started with the 2009 Tacoma, TRD, Off Road, V6, 4x4. Shortly after placing the order, I got a new 2013 Tacoma because of the new technology it offered (primarily hands free devices). With the exception of the Sirius satellite antenna, I don't think there were many modifications that needed to be made.

So knowing that we were torn between a class b and the pop up, it should be no surprise that we didn't spare any detail or option. In fact, I think we initially ordered every option that was available on the Phoenix "build your own" website.