Anyone had issues with their fridge and dog hair?

Chris Cordes

Expedition Leader
So I'm new to the fridge/freezer world and I'm looking to see if anyone has experience with fridges around dogs. I'm going to be using an ARB fridge and while I will try to protect the radiator and open bits I have a German shepherd and a malamute. Essentially my cars a fur factory at all times. Has anyone had a problem with dog hair getting into the components and ruining them or worse starting a fire? Thanks in advance y'all!

Andy@AAV

Old Marine
I used to keep my ARB mounted in the rear of my access cab while my lab-border collie mix occupied the front seat. Over a 9 day and several 4-5 day trips my passenger seat was completely coated with dog hair (not to mention my dash, floor, every interior surface) but the fridge mounted right behind it never had an issue with hair collecting or heat issues.

MANUCHAO

Aventurero
most fridge sleeve covers have a screen to help circulate/vent the compressor ..
as stated above some sort of screen could be added to the the cover....

Chris Cordes

Expedition Leader
Thanks all! I think ill do a combo of adding a screen and using dust off after each trip. Thanks for the input! Now I just need to build a dog guard to keep everyone secure and safe

cruiseroutfit

Supporting Sponsor: Cruiser Outfitters
Thanks all! I think ill do a combo of adding a screen and using dust off after each trip. Thanks for the input! Now I just need to build a dog guard to keep everyone secure and safe