Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to drive from Colorado to South America?

Default What to drive from Colorado to South America?

Hello All,

I'm new to this, so I hope I'm posting correctly.

My wife and I are planning to drive from Colorado to Argentina starting this fall, and we are not sure what to drive.

We have a 1999 4Runner, and a 1974 VW kombi westfalia.

We like the 4runner for 4x4 and for reliability, but I've seen others do this and it looks pretty cramped.

The van is "cool" and it has a new engine, but it won't have much power or 4x4.

Any suggestions? I'm open to all ideas, and I'm even open to buying or trading if someone has something worth driving to argentina.

Thanks!

Very well written and informative trip to Central America in a 4 runner

http://www.liferemotely.com/download-the-ebook
    "Knowledge without experience is just information"--Mark Twain

Land Cruiser Products

People make this trip in (or on) everything from bikes to 20 ton 6x6 trucks. You will get just as many opinions here as to what is "best".
    You might want to check: http://www.xor.org.uk/silkroute/equipment/choosevan.htm
    1993 Mercedes-Benz 917 AF

The ability to sleep inside the vehicle is huge advantage. I'd rank that feature far above 4x4 ability or engine power.