I want to charge my camper with the truck's alternator. Isolator / Relay?

Costman13

Adventurer
Hello all,

I am very new to truck campers and a bit electronic illiterate. I have a new to me 2003 FWC Eagle and would like to be able to charge / maintain the house battery with the trucks alternator. I know that stock alternators were not designed to charge multiple batteries especially those which are 15 feet away. However, If all it did was maintain the house battery, and on extended trips slowly charge, that is better than what I have going on now. While cruising the internet I found a million complex ways to do this. Is there any reason as to why you could not use a simple battery isolation switch and a charge relay, like you would on a boat?

For example: http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Systems-120A-Add-A-Battery/dp/B000RZNP5K/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_i

Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Cameron.

1stDeuce

Explorer
I tried this for a while. There are ways it can be done, described well in links above. You mostly just want a relay to keep from draining the truck battery when you stop. The key to getting a good charge from the truck is using 10ga or better wire and keeping the run short. BUT... if you're not driving EVERY day, you'll end up running your battery down more than it will appreciate. For a fairly small cash outlay, you could never have to worry again if you go with a solar charge setup. Even if it's only a 50W panel, you'll be so much better off. You can still tie to the truck battery if you want, you just don't have to, and you don't have to run the truck to charge the battery (Which takes a LOT longer than you'd think...) ever again! :)
Good luck!

Costman13

Adventurer