Trailer limitations

scoutzach

i am new to the expedition trailers and is just wondering what the limitations are for haveing one. I will be towing it with a f150

thanks.

6btEX

Observer
The only limitations are the intended use and budget. Seen some awesome trailers that can go almost anywhere, that cost more than a car and some cheap trailers that shouldn't leave the black top. You have to find your middle of the road. What are you going to use it for and how much are you willing to pay or time and skills you can invest? Is it just a cargo hauler with a RTT or a full on camper?

java

Expedition Leader
I like having my trailer but there are some limitations.

Turning around on a tight FS road or trail can suck. 14 point turns with a trailer is no fun.
More drag in soft sand mud etc. Need more traction on the drive wheels to pull the extra dead weight.
Longer overall length. Parking can be a ***** in a grocery store etc for getting supplies.

Crush Jeep

Adventurer
I'd say the only limitation would be your imagination and budget. Mine stated off just as a trailer rebuild with no tent, lid, ect, now it grown into a comfortable camping rig.
This is what I started with.
T9.jpg
And her is where I am today.
T191.jpg
IMG_20140411_192401_638.jpg

fubar

Adventurer
The only limitation I see is that I am more conservative as to where I gone *alone*. You can get in to a bit more trouble and recovery is more complicated with a trailer. Even so, I remain a fan and highly recommend having one.

I also pull mine with an F150 FX4 5.0. Can hardly tell my 2K lb (loaded and wet) Conqueror Compact is there. Pulled it through some nutty stuff with no issues. See avatar for example.

Go for it!

Herbie

Rendezvous Conspirator
Depending on where you travel, there's one more limit: The speed limit.