Cold-Factor 3-Way Camping Fridge/Freezer

t42beal13t

Adventurer
I have no knowledge of portable fridge/freezers but I found a Cold-Factor fridge/freezer for sale locally and was wondering if it would be good for camping/extended road trips. They're from South Africa if that makes a difference. Can it handle abuse of bumping down a trail? The backside is exposed showing the components which probably isn't a good thing if it wasn't properly secured in my truck.

They can run off of 12v or propane.

Here's a link to the spec sheet: http://www.cold-factor.com/45lt.html

Backside pic from ad: image.jpg

Thoughts?

HenryJ

Expedition Leader
This is an absorption RV fridge. They can be frustrating to say the least. Don't plan on set temperatures as you would a compressor fridge. 12V operation gobbles power so the engine needs to be running and the alternator putting it out. 120V does pretty good. Propane OK too.
That looks just like the same design as the fridge I have in my Fleetwood E1. Adding baffles and computer fans I have been able to improve the performance. Still I do not count on it and keep the temp critical stuff in the 12v compressor fridge :)
Here is an example of adding the baffle and fans: http://he-ruide.smugmug.com/Heating...the-fridge/4953100_tWEBQ#!i=296354766&k=8Edp5

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
Can it handle abuse of bumping down a trail?

Ammonia absorption type fridges like a bit of shaking around to stir up the ammonia. Supposedly, they don't like being operated off-level. I've shaken The 1.7cu' Norcold 323 in my truck around like crazy and let it run off-level a million times. Only problem I've ever had was a thermocouple that I had to replace - but that eventually happens with all pilot-light devices.

But I was AWARE that I could screw up the fridge by doing what I did. I didn't care since I figured when/if it fails, I'll swap it out for a compressor fridge. But the stupid thing just won't fail.

NOTE: On the "How it Works" page, Cold-Factor says: