LP bed rack and LP basket

503Tim

So I started drawing up my bed rack for my 06 double cab.. I haven't liked anything on the market and nothing has really "caught" my eye..SO to the computer I went.

As of right now it sits 10" off the bed rail and bolts directly to the bed rail slides.. Making them out of 10g steel, I may get it done out of aluminum as well. I have two different versions I have drawn up, and was wanting input from others, what they liked or thought it needed. I may make a couple to sell if someone wanted one as well. It will be 100% bolt together. The holes will be dimpled died as well for looks and strength.

So, lets here the inputs, negativity or whatever else you want to through my way lol.

Attachments

• Assy1.jpg
    Assy1.jpg
    46 KB · Views: 21
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    264.9 KB · Views: 25
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    303.3 KB · Views: 20
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    449.4 KB · Views: 21

AFBronco235

Crew Chief
If its bolt together, go with steel. Aluminum doesn't handle bolt together design very well. Or at the very least, make your cross members out of steel and the basket out of aluminum. Actually, just selling he cross members would be all you'd need.

How much weight are you expecting that to carry?

zscott

Adventurer
If its bolt together, go with steel. Aluminum doesn't handle bolt together design very well. Or at the very least, make your cross members out of steel and the basket out of aluminum. Actually, just selling he cross members would be all you'd need.

How much weight are you expecting that to carry?

What makes aluminum not handle bolt together design very well? Obviously it is a softer metal but if done right I don't see why it can't be successfully designed to be bolted together. Schutt industries makes nearly the entire venture trailer from aluminum that is bolted together with huck bolts. I have a roof rack on my truck that is bolt together design and am yet to have any problems with it after 9-10 months of pretty good use.