M1079 Camper

pugslyyy

Expedition Vehicle Engineer Guy
M1079 Camper

$_57[1].JPG

I'm not buying one (yet), but every time I see one I think about what a great project it could be...

supermoo

Observer
This looks pretty interesting. Could have a box built for the back if you weren't to try and utilize the current box. Has anyone ever driven one of these?

matthewp

Combat Truck Monkey
Has anyone ever driven one of these?

They are not bad at all. The cab compartment is pretty Spartan, but still ergonomic, especially compared to the older M900 series trucks. The drivetrain is a Cat motor with an Allison transmission, so parts shouldn't be hard to find. The common issue with these have been the hydraulic accessory system, prone to leaks. The trucks do drive well and, although loud, wouldn't be hard to take apart and add sound matting. After having driven these in the Army since they showed up in 2000 (I'm a truck driver as my job, so these have been my bread & butter), I wouldn't hesitate to buy one if the money & opportunity arose.

supermoo

Observer
Thanks. This seems like a pretty viable platform for a expedition truck if I can get something like a Global Expedition box on the back. Wonder if they would do something where the owner showed up a vehicle and they produced the box.

mog

Kodiak Buckaroo
Thanks. This seems like a pretty viable platform for a expedition truck if I can get something like a Global Expedition box on the back. Wonder if they would do something where the owner showed up a vehicle and they produced the box.

The BAE SD Brazos is pretty much the same beast and GXV has done those CLICK HERE
1206-2a.jpg

pugslyyy

Expedition Vehicle Engineer Guy

I believe a lot of GXV's customers provide the platform (could be completely wrong, just going on what I've heard wrt Unimogs).

Keyne

Adventurer