What are your pants of choice?

iluv83vettes

Adventurer
I'm looking for some pants to wear while riding. Here are some blocks I would like to check

-waterproof
-can be worn when it's hot (100+)
-packs small
-if I crash, I would like to have a little bit of skin left on my legs to graft to and not some nubs that I can't put a tourniquet on
-be able to cinch down the ankles
-not super expensive (~$200)

I'm sure nearly every pant made fits most of these criteria, but I'm pretty new to wearing actual gear vs hopping on the 30 year old dirtbike to check the cows and fence line in just what I'm wearing. I've picked out a couple different jackets and boots that I'm still deciding on from threads on here and I really need some leg protection and would like to help others who are in the same boat as me.

Scott Brady

Founder
Given you needs, I would focus on under pant armor like hip/tailbone pads sewn into spanex shorts, then a good shin/knee pad. I bought a set of Thor pants with armor for less than $100 on sale. Now, I use a pair of Klim inside the boot pants in summer, then their badlands pant in Fall, winter, spring

MarcFJ60

Adventurer
Let me begin by saying "Good Luck."

Not to be curt, but you really have a lot of competing desires. Waterproof and wearable in 100 degree weather probably won't truly happen - at least not comfortably. Comfort in 100 degrees requires mesh or massive venting, and neither of which help with keeping the water out - especially in a sub $200 pair of pants. If there is such a beast, I highly doubt it will pack small.