Newbie training

kmlacroix

Explorer
Hi,
I am new to the idea of adventure riding. I like doing trails in my JGC diesel, but have wanted a bike again after 25+ years(kids are grown now). I will be taking a MSF course soon. I have a few questions. I am adventurous, but not stupid. For me having fun is challenging myself, but not needlessly endangering my life. WE have recently moved to the front range from the east coast. My last bike was a 500cc road bike.

How does one reassure the wife that I won't kill myself.

after the basic MSF course, are the BMW moto course(s) worth taking. I still need offroad skills.

What else do I need to know?

I am 5'10", 270(not all fat) and reasonably strong. Thousands on road bicycle miles under me. Fortunately I am almost spitting distance from the Rampart Range and 100+ miles of motorcycle trails.

Kevin

Overland Hadley

on a journey
I just started riding last autumn, and this also describes my riding style.
"I am adventurous, but not stupid. For me having fun is challenging myself, but not needlessly endangering my life."

The MSF course was great, for road riding. But most all of my riding is on dirt roads, and they will not teach anything about driving off pavement. I am still glad that I took the safety course.

RawHyde seems to be the best off road/dual sport/ adventure riding school. I have watched some youtube footage of a BMW course they were doing, and I learned a lot. It would be great to take one of their full courses, but that is way, way out of my budget.

I found the pdf book "How to Ride Off Road" from BestRestProducts.com to be helpful, but I learn easily from reading.

I would be interested to know if anybody has watched the DVD'a that DualSpotRiding.com offers, and found them helpful?

Christophe Noel

Expedition Leader