Possible new supplier of fiberglass composite panels to North America

Victorian

Approved Vendor : Total Composites
Hi there,

Our Joint Venture business is playing with the idea of selling high end, made to order fiberglass composite panels in North America. At this point we are trying to find out if it would be worth our time and effort setting up an office on the west coast of Canada.

About the product: The panels are the same you see being used in Expedition trucks like Unicat, Ormocar and many others. Sizes and thickness are custom.
The factory is located in China, managed by my (German) dad. He has more than 30 years of expertise as an engineer in composite and heavy truck manufacturing. I'm a fine furniture maker by trade with several years at Unicat and former owner of a cabinet shop. In other words, both of us are more than capable in creating an excellent product.

We believe that especially the "home build" expedition truck/trailer/camper do it yourselfer may be benefiting the most. As those panels can be easily cut and glued together with little effort (I like to use the Festool tracksaw for that task). Shipping could be done to any port on the west coast of your choice.

Once we have an idea what the market is asking for, we will figure out pricing ....

Please don't hesitate in contacting me if you have any questions!

Cheers,
Andreas

p.s. the product website went life today but needs a bit more tweeking... ;-)

Last edited:

Buckstopper

Adventurer
Andreas - any idea of a cost per square foot delivered to west coast US port? Also, what is the maximum panel size?

I am assuming that the real cost issue is going to be filling a container. One expedition campers worth of panels is not going to fill a container so you will need to either consolidate orders until you have a container full or get someone to warehouse container lots for distribution.

Interesting idea and it could open some opportunities for a home built camper.

Buckstopper

bobaloo