Lumpskie's 1989 Grand Wagoneer Build

lumpskie

Independent Thinker
I'm new to Jeeps and domestic vehicles in general but I am absolutely smitten with my Grand Wagoneer. So, I figured I'd share my experiences and mistakes as I slowly turn this Jeep into the family road trip/camping/exploration vehicle!

Current Pictures:

20150608_192547_zps2o1kpj3a_e347ee700b64859190d8cc1aa31a15f6f209519e-jpg.1666347

20150608_192627_zpsvmntkuhb_098894fd3f727191a917660bd19abb473c0d5488-jpg.1666356

Here's what I started with:

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer
Engine - AMC 360, 2 Barrel Motocraft 2150 Carb
Transmission - Torque Flight 727, 3 speed no overdrive
Transfercase - New Process 229, 2wd, AWD, 4WD Lo
Axles - Dana 44 front and rear

Here's the work that was done just prior to me buying the rig: (By Jones Automotive in Ft. Collins)
New pistons (either .020 or .030 over)
Crank ground
New motor mounts
New Flex Plate
New Water Pump
New Thermostat
New Oil Pump
New Hoses
New Fan Clutch
Electric Fuel Pump
New Radiator Cap

My Maintenance work:

New Alternator
Replaced alternator wiring
Repaired driver's side window wiring
Repaired Radio
Sony Rear Speakers
Repaired rear window switch
Repaired rear window felt tracks
New Smog Pump
Replaced outer front wheel bearings
Replaced front spindle bearings
Replaced front outer axle oil seals
Replaced inner front wheel bearings
New distributor cap and rotor
New plug wires
New radiator (BJ's stock replacement)
New Fan
New Fan Clutch
New Water Pump

Modifications:

10" travel Gabriel Guardian Shocks
2" lift Alcan leaf springs, custom length
Mombasa Roof Top Tent
Yakima, 4 bar, drip rail roof rack

Last edited:

lumpskie

Independent Thinker