Dual batteries

ILIAN

Adventurer
So I'm ready to install the dual battery setup. I really wanted to go with AGM's but found out they have different charging requirements than regular flooded batteries. I was specifically looking at the Die Hard AGM's. Now I don't know what to get anymore. The AGM batteries are supposed to do both high current starting or winching and low current deep cycle and have much better vibration resistance. I plan on running camp lights and water pump and such at camp so I suppose I will need to deep cycle at least one of them but I'm new to this so don't know for sure. My 2000 G500 has a group 48 battery right now in the tray which is in a bad shape so I can't do any testing on it to see how long it will run everything. Also I read somewhere that it's not recommended to mix different types of batteries so that idea is out the window. What kind of setups do you guys have and what batteries do you use? I guess you can do anything if you are happy with batteries lasting only 2 years but I'd like to get this right and get a long and reliable service out of my batteries.

burquedoka

Adventurer
I run a National Luna dual battery system, and I love it. It has the ability to link the two batteries in parallel if needed to jump the truck or run a winch. The system is very non-invasive to the stock electrics and can be easily removed. As far as batteries, I still have my stock lead acid MB battery running the truck and then I have the big boy diehard platinum marine battery running all the accessories. System is bulletproof as far as I'm concerned.

McBride

Adventurer
I agree. I don't have it but you can't go wrong with a properly installed National Luna system. Its what they do.

dwh

Tail-End Charlie
So I'm ready to install the dual battery setup. I really wanted to go with AGM's but found out they have different charging requirements than regular flooded batteries.