Going to Moab need advice

18seeds

Explorer
I'm heading to Moab this friday and need some advice on light 4x4 driving. Usually i ride dirt bikes but this year i have the GF with me so I need something we can do together. I will be driving a 06 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD with Flip Pac camper on. I am a novice 4x4er with no recovery equipment, just big tires. I thought the White Rim Trail would be awesome but we need to be back at a camp spot to meet up with friends and from what i read it is a 2 day trip to fully enjoy it.

Any ideas? Looking for a nice offroad drive for about 3-4 hours

Connie

Day walker, Overland Certified OC0013
You can't camp on White Rim without reserving a camp spot, which gets difficult in high season. It can be done in a day, but yeah two is better. I've done a bunch of the trails around Moab, but they all run together in my head.
Its not 4wd, but if she's never seen it, I highly recommend Arches National Park. I know there are some easy very scenic drives around Moab, but I don't have my book handy at the moment. I'll try to find it and post later.

Michael Slade

Untitled
Head down the Potash Road. You'll end up on the Shaffer Trail, neat switchbacks, views of the Colorado River, end up on top at Dead Horse Point for the sunset. A perfect 3-4 hour trip.

Dave

Explorer
If you do go to Arches, check out the Tower Arch road. It's mostly a washboard road but the last bit up to the short Tower Arch hiking trail head is an easy 4x4 trail. It's a great way to get away from the masses and pavement that can sometimes put a damper on visiting the busy Arches National Park. The hike to Tower Arch is fun too.

Pick up Charles Well's book GUIDE TO Moab, UT Backroads & 4-Wheel Drive Trails if you haven't already.

TheGillz

Explorer
Trail from Arches NP to Gateway, CO?

Is there a trail from Arches to Gateway that I could take a stock JK on?
Looks like you could take Old Sharf Ranch RD or Entrada Ranch RD and meet up with 4 1/10 RD?

nwoods

Expedition Leader