what new wheels to get?

ILIAN

Adventurer
I'm having a hard time deciding which wheels to get for my G500. I plan on putting 35" on them and want to keep the weight of the wheel and tire to a minimum. I was looking at the Hutchinson beadlocks but they are 45lb vs the 16" MB Atic or Ashtaroth at around 30lb. I can also get the MB wheels for cheaper than the Hutchinsons. This is my daily driver. I'm new to offroad but I have taken the G to some difficult trails and ti hasn't got stuck running 25 psi air on the tires so I'm not sure if I really need beadlocks or if I'm ever going to need to air down to 5 or 10 PSI to justify them. Another option are the 17" wheels made by Viking Offroad but these are not DOT approved And even more expensive. Does anyone know why they are not DOT approved? Is it just because of the expense for getting the approval? At 17" the size gives the best tire selection and they have a special Lip to help keep the bead in place.

otiswesty

Regular guy
A 33' tire should be enough for you. The 35" tire is "better" but unless your uses are pretty extreme, I would say going to that larger size is unneccesary. Over 33" also starts to make your truck look more monster truck like IMO, some dudes on the road may love it, but the utility value is not much greater. That said, I ran a 33" tire on 18's for a few years and was very happy with them. I went with the 16" rims as a matter of principal and from reading here and there. I have not really found there to be a advantage in a 33" tire on 16's compared to what I was running before. However, I am happy with my 16" tire and wheel set up.