Ultimate Goal Zero In-Car charging

snowblind

Adventurer
Hey Guys.

I've been running a Goal Zero Yeti 400 for a couple of years now. Last year I bought a car-charger adapter and was surprised to see that it charged at a higher rate than the wall charger!! :Wow1: The only problem I had is that I HATED the cigarette-plug 12V socket. The socket pulled out easily, or didn't charge unless perfectly seated, or was just big and stupid in general.

Replacing the cigarette-plug was problematic because Goal Zero uses a propriety 8mm connector/cable for charging. Fortunately GZ recently released solar panels with MC4 connectors and therefore released an MC4 to 8 mm adapter cable. We ran dedicated wire to the adapter and connected via Renology MC4 connectors.

The end result is a clean and safe install with AWESOME charging performance. The specced MAX input the Yeti can accept is 120watts. The wall charger maxes at 70watts. Here is a photo of mine pulling 134watts. :Wow1::Wow1::Wow1:

IMG_0017.jpg

IMG_0047.jpg

Matt

Last edited:

cruisertoy

Explorer
nice. I used a couple sherpa 100's and a Sherpa 50 last weekend but was disappointing in that they overheated in the truck. No idea how hot it got in there but we were in southern Utah and it was sunny. I had them plugged into a Nomad 27 and they were running my Engel 45 fridge. Does your 400 overheat?

calicamper

Expedition Leader
I like their stuff but pricy. I'm building my own out of a 50cal ammo box using solar as the primary charge source. I have about $180 in the box and about $280 into all the associated stuff, plugs, fuses, leds and charging hub for the gopro, cellphone etc. Our tent trailer leds and switches.

snowblind

Adventurer