Replacing Front Wheel Bearings on Gen III

Sabre

Overlanding Nurse
Earlier this year my 2001 Ltd developed a bit of noise up front. Stopping on the freeway offramp and laying a hand on the wheels confirmed my suspicions: the left front was way, way hotter than the right side. I had a wheel bearing on the way out. Not bad, considering the abuse this poor rig has sustained (dust & water) in 120,000 miles. I ordered a new set of front bearings and set out to swap them out. Though it may seem a bit daunting, it really is a straightforward procedure. Note that I'm just a halfway handy home mechanic. I don't tear into engines, don't do major rebuilds, but wanted to demonstrate that this task is within the abilities of anyone who is reasonably handy. You also don't need any special tools. I used a small straight-blade screwdriver, a needle-nosed pliers ("snipe-nosed" if you have an odd accent), a couple of socket wrenches & open end wrenches, a torque wrench, and a hammer. DISCLAIMER: this is NOT the procedure if you have a Sport. That is a different beastie entirely.

The first step is to jack up the front. Note that this pic shows the right front being jacked up, although the procedure itself is shown on the left (driver) side. Get it on some really safe, solid jackstands. Don't use a stack of wobbly chunks of lumber, you cheap bugger. Safe enough? OK, now remove the wheel.
20754540650_23d253b95c_b.jpg

Here's what you'll see; again, we're on the LEFT side now.
20916342746_0857338537_b.jpg

Use a screwdriver to pry off the dust cap on the end of the axle. Removing the cotter pin and the axle nut is pretty straightforward.
20942592385_8b6858c443_b.jpg

20321555663_690df4a7de_b.jpg