2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Build Thread

JeepN95YJ

Adventurer
I have been fourwheeling and exploring the outdoors since 1988. Prior to that I enjoyed two and three-wheeled offroading as a kid. The woods behind my house were my playground and I loved it.

Over the years I have owned several offroad vehicles, a 1988.5 Suzuki Samurai, a 1995 Jeep YJ, a 2001 Jeep TJ, a 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee, a 1981 Wagoneer and now the latest 2002 WJ.

My previous Jeeps were all modified. Some much more than others. The 1999 Grand was my wife’s daily driver and other than a 2.5” budget boost and slightly larger tires it was completely stock. I sold it with over 280,000 miles on the ticker and have felt like I had made a mistake ever since. In 2007 I drove it from Batavia, OH, to Moab, UT, and my favorite, the White Rim trail.

At that time my kids were babies. In fact, my son was 3 and my wife was 7 months pregnant with my daughter. Now they are 12 and 8 and I have been feeling the pressure that time is slipping away. I want them to experience that epic Moab-style road trip as a family. I hope that as they get older they will want to continue to take these types of trips with my wife and I and their families. The Grand Cherokee proved itself as an awesome family platform. The 1999 WJ was a Laredo package. It had the full-time NV247 tcase, 3.73 gears, 4.7 V8, leather and the sunroof. I always liked this setup but wanted the Limited cladding and quadradrive axles. I searched locally for quite a while and finally found a 2002 WJ Limited with a few issues that would make a great starting point