Isuzu Troopers - the "Wolfpack"

stevo-mt

With a few major life changes I was going to be forced get a new daily driver. I had been using my M1010 truck that I have been building up for the last 3 years pretty much everytime I needed to drive anywhere. I worked in Alaska for 6 months on and 6 off so it worked great. Any time I needed to go anywhere I just made a trip out of it. Well after getting married and my wife starting grad school we were in need of a vehicle that could actually drive in the city. We had a few different options. Toyota 4runner, Isuzu Trooper, and Mitsubishi Montero were the different options. Last year I built my friend a pretty awesome 2002 4runner expo vehicle. The thing turned out fantastic, but he paid through the roof for a clean 4runner with 135k miles. Since we would be needing two vehicles 4runners were pretty much ruled out. There is no such thing as a good deal on a used 4runner. http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/threads/139088-Project-4FunR This is the one I worked on for my friend.

I ended up finding and buying 4 troopers total. I wasn't planning on doing that but it seems to working out so far. Plus I have plenty of room to store stuff. There are few quirks with these but overall they are a great rig. 4L30E tranny is a little less reliable, but if you check your ATF level you will much less likely have issues. Plus mine has a limited slip diff already installed. That makes a world of difference offroad. The axles on these are the size of a 1/2 ton truck. The bearings in the front are almost the same size as my 3/4 ton ford had!