What is your expedition camera of choice if you could only choose one? Or two?

Texans Outdoors

TexansOutdoors.com
What is your expedition camera of choice? Is there a better water proof camera than the GoPro? What is the best expedition camera less than $1000?

Thanks

nevadajh

Observer
I still prefer a DSLR camera as my only camera. I can change lenses for my needs and I can store a huge amount on a little card. Right now I'm using a Canon 7D because I shoot a lot of wildlife and with its crop sensor it gives me an additional 1.6x on my 70-200mm or 100-400mm lens...down side its not waterproof unless you spend big bucks on a underwater case.

JackW

Explorer
One of the reasons to travel for me is to take photographs - and invariably I always regret not taking more.
I've been shooting Canon cameras since the about 1977 (with occasional forays into Rolleis, Hasselblads and Speed Graphics back in the film days) and I bought my first Canon F-1 in 1980.
That was the top of the line in Canon cameras at the time and I shot with those until moving into digital. I use Canon 1D series cameras now - big heavy, weatherproof and durable.
I'll put up with the weight for image quality, accurate autofocus, and the ability to shoot in bad weather conditions like rainy Expo East events.

I have a 1Ds MkII (around $800 used) and a 1D MkII (around $350 used) now. A 1Ds MkIII can be had for under $1200 these days. I'm thinking of moving up to a 1Dx body but that's definitely more than you want to spend.
I also carry a Canon G-series for quick snapshots and my wife has an S-95.

Go here for a lot of good information on camera options: http://photography-on-the.net/forum/

Texans Outdoors

TexansOutdoors.com