CAD Software

pawleyk

Running from Monday..
Hey guys,

First of all, I want to apologize if this is in the wrong place. I know it's not nav software, but I couldn't really think of a better spot for it.
I'm looking for advice on CAD software.. I have very little experience with 3D design programs, but recognize what a powerful tool they could be. When I built my bumper, it took me about 14hrs. Probably 4hrs of fabrication work and 10hrs of staring at the pieces and the truck deciding what to do next.

I have begun to mess with Sketchup and so far I like it. It seems like everytime I feel like it is missing a feature or function, a quick search shows me how to do it. Bonus- It's free and relatively easy to use.

While I do like Sketchup, it's the only software I've really tried. I'd like to find out now if I'm learning a program that maybe won't serve me well later on.
Ultimately, I'd like to be able to construct a complex (ish) item like a bumper or truck bed in three dimensions, piece by piece. Then, when it comes time to actually build the thing, the program has a function that recognizes individual pieces and will generate what I would call a “cut list”.

If I’m able to print a piece of paper with each individual required component and it’s dimensions, I could take it into the shop and use that combined with the 3d image to easily construct the exact project modeled on the computer.

I currently use spreadsheets for this function in my work, but we just make gates. Much simpler and essentially 2d..
For all I know, Sketchup may have a plugin or something for this function, but I haven’t found it. This seems like a really obvious feature for programs like this, but I just don’t know much about the options out there.

So, does anyone make software that does this? I realize it may be something I’d have to pay for.. but I’d rather not have to go back to college to learn to use it.

Thanks!

I Leak Oil

Expedition Leader