2013 F450 Lance Camper Utility Bed Build

racer3822

Observer
So after a LONG time lurking and checking out other builds I decided to do one of my own. I have a Lance 992 camper that I have been using on the back of a 2006 F250 for the last 8 years or so. I've always wanted more storage space (even afterI built the aluminum box on top!) and after highly considering saving some money and doing a flatbed build like boblynch's (http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/threads/23173-F550-Flatbed-Build), I decided to do a utility bed. It's more money but in the end I think will be what I'm looking for long term.

I just started it, but the bed will be the first to go on in about 6 weeks.

I find myself on highway 90% of the time, and 10% of the time off-road. The problem is when I do go offroad, its not just fire roads always. I enjoy bird hunting and have taken the camper off to go through some narly stuff, and leave the camper on when I'm on milder terrain. I have gotten stuck a few times. I travel alot during the winter months and often times go down snow covered back roads too. I wanted a rig that was capable the 10% of the time I'm offroad.
20160123_122438 (1024x576).jpg
20160123_144313 (1024x266).jpg

CURRENT VEHICLE:
20160307_110314 (576x1024).jpg
P9120066.jpg

The F250 truck was great when I was using it as a daily driver and a camper, but in the later mileage I've moved it to strictly RV use. It has 19.5 285 tires, redone spring pack in the rear, custom 1.5" sway bar added, rancho 9500xl adustable shocks, 50 gallon fuel tank among alot of other things. With all of that it handles really well, but there's still no substitute for a wider wheel base and I'm limited to add anymore weight by the weight rating of the axle too.

THE NEW TRUCK:
I found a used 2013 F450 Chassis cab with the bed removed that I purchased.
20160426183855-98201578-df3e-434d-a6e9-266fc33aadc2.jpg

Truck upgrades I'm looking at: