Confessions of a novice rider part three: Droppage

grahamfitter

Expedition Leader
So I've been commuting to work on my DR200 for a couple of months, ridden over a thousand miles, spent little on gas, stayed dry in the rain, mastered the security gate at work, life is good. Of course it was going to happen sooner or later and today, on my way home from work, I dropped the bike.

Before I go on, I would reassure those who worry about such things: No injuries were sustained by the bike. Or myself.

Running parallel to the road I commute on is an old railroad track that is being converted to a bike path. The rails have been lifted and there's just dirt, tree roots and the odd fence signifying the end of the path. The dirt is mostly dry and where its not, its rutted, wet, deep and smelly. Nothing I'd be worried about on a mountain bike but all new for the moto. The big soft ruts were a challenge and I successfully avoided the deep puddles with the odd foot down. I've definitely got a lot to learn about this but what fun it is! Of course the bike and clothes are suitably muddy now.

At the fence at the end of the track I was quite happily slowly turning round with both feet on the pegs, feathering the clutch. Then all of a sudden the bike was on the ground and I was standing there looking at it, all tied up in the messenger bag that had slipped off my shoulder and wrapped itself around my waist. I think it happened because the clutch lever that occasionally catches on the bark busters installed by the previous owner picked precisely that moment to do so. I guess that's worth fixing, then.

After looking around to make sure there weren't any witnesses, I untangled myself from my luggage. That was the hard bit. Picking the small bike up was a complete doddle!

Same again tomorrow? Even if it means dropping the bike again? Most definitely! :bike_rider:

Cheers,
Graham

boblynch

Adventurer