LX470 advice?

I've been driving my 2001 Tundra for 7 months now, and I absolutely love it. With the exception of it being 2WD... It has 224,--- miles on the 2uz-fe. My best friend is a Toyota mechanic and tells me I have a slow leak on the rear main seals, but it isn't a problem. The truck doesn't burn any oil and is exceptionally reliable.

Today I came across a 2001 LX470 for which the guy is asking right at $5900. There are a few cosmetic issues that don't bother me at all, as well as a single engine issue. The owner told me he thought the LX was overheating, and what I found is that there's a small T-shaped fitting on the coolant system that's either busted or missing(Here's a link to a guy replacing said part: http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/diy-replacing-heater-hose-pipe-ts-important.610334/ ). The LX has 212,--- miles and after inspecting the areas my friend advised me to inspect, I found there are no oil leaks.

I can justify buying the LX, but only if I sell the Tundra. I love having 4WD(I own a Disco 2, reliability be damned!), and I've been pretty stuck in sand and 100+ degree heat in the Tundra before whilst camping. Not fun. I don't often pull a heavy load, just some round hay bales for my girlfriend's horse on occasion. In the long term, which would be a better vehicle to own?

Thanks for any and all advice/thoughts/complaints!

-Richard

MrWesson

Adventurer
Buy the LX, fix it and if you don't like it sell it for a profit.

Thats a great price IMO and i'd buy it if you didn't just to play with it a few times off road, clean it up and flip it.

Ok, so I've had a better opportunity to take stock of all the attributes/snags/cosmetics of the LX. Here's a list, and I won't say it's comprehensive, but it paints a decent picture.
Good:
-Switches and buttons all seem to work without hiccup.
-Height Control functions normally
-Hi/Low range lever engages smoothly
-No rust to speak of
-Engine starts/runs/idles well(to be expected of the 2uz-fe)
Bad(sort of?)