Rookie bought a tablet and map app

Oldmancrash

Adventurer
I just picked up a Samsung Tab A 9.7 non 4G LTE tablet. (Side note ***** I was told by the clerk at best buy that buying a tablet less then 10" Microsoft office was included for free. Any tablet over 10" and it has to be purchased. Not sure right or wrong but thought I would pass that along). My objective for buying a tablet was to be able to use it mounted in my 2000 toyota 4runner for some of my overland adventures. The tablet only has 16gb so I added a 128gb sd card. I believe it was $169 at Best Buy. For several weeks I have been trying to decide what mapping app to buy when I finally picked up a tablet. GAIA or HEMA. Well after reading a ton of reviews and hours of research I went with GAIA. I installed the new app and found out just how easy it was to save maps to hopefully be able to use the GPS without the WIFI assist. I am totally new to this mapping thing so I was not sure if this will work or not without WIFI service. I had a lot of concern also because I found out that after saving a few maps in satellite and USGS Topo format that I had used a LOT of memory. I was down to less then 6gb available (I had not gone through yet and cleaned unnecessary apps out). So a little more searching the tabs and buttons I found out that I could save all my mapping stuff to the SD card. WHOOP WHOOP. Not bad for a tablet/map app rookie.