2014 G550 Build/Mods

jacksond

Hey guys,
I purchased a 2014 G550 this past summer (black exterior/brown interior)! So far I've had a great time testing it out around Texas on some back roads, plains, and around rivers and creeks! While the vehicle was fully stock, the G had no problem with any obstacle I put before it. However, the challenges thus far haven't been too tough to begin with. Nonetheless, I've begun to equip it for bigger explorations to come in the near future!
First on the list was new all terrain tires. As I do use this as an everyday driver, I decided it was best not to have full on mud tires but a good set of all terrains. I wanted something aggressive and that could handle mud and snow where ever I may be. I ended up choosing the BFG KO2's in 275 70 18 (See third picture) - keeping the stock rims for now. The road noise has not been bad and the ride is very smooth! It does start to get bumpy up around 90ish though. Bearable, but noticeable. Also just don't get in a hurry in this thing to begin with. Enjoy your journey!
I was nervous that with the bigger sized tires (as I saw many others have similar feelings on this forum) so I bought a set of the 50mm coil spacers from Titus on here. I have not yet received those but received notice that they have finally cleared customs and are making there way to me now! Even without the spacers there has been no rubbing of the wheels to this point!
I have also received the Gobi Stealth roof rack and it is fantastic! Got it all installed in one day with the help of a friend holding it steady while i bolted on each clamp. Assembly was straight forward minus one bolt for attaching the rack was a bit hard to reach but fits fantastic and looks great too! I tried driving it without the wind deflector and it whistled anything above 20mph. It took 5 minutes to put on the deflector and actually gives it a more complete look.