Truck Topper Brace

eaneumann

Adventurer
Hello all. I'm looking to build a brace for my truck topper. I have a 2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax with a Prinsu rack on my topper. I'm looking to build a cage on the inside of the topper to support the weight of our tent/people/dogs/gear, about 800lbs stationary. While moving, the rack doesn't need to support that much weight, 250lbs max.

I've been trying to decide on using steel or aluminum. I do auto body for a living and have access to all of the tools I would need, I just don't have any experience with engineering such a project. I would like to use aluminum for weight savings unless there's a good reason not to. Cost isn't really an issue, I want to keep it around $500 for materials. Labor is free!

I'm currently using two bed crossbars from Relentless Fabrication to mount my tent to the bed. I'll be using the same mounting method for my brace/topper, it will eliminate the need for clamps. For the shape, I'm looking for something very basic, along the lines of an All Pro bed rack, but maybe just two crossbars with small feet like the Relentless Fabrication. Maybe 3 crossbars would be better? I was thinking 1" tube, but am looking for suggestions. I'm also thinking 1/4 for all of the brackets, maybe overkill?

Relentless Fabrication bed crossbars http://www.relentlessfabrication.com/products/07-tundra-bed-cargo-cross-bars-pair

All Pro Pack Rack http://allprooffroad.com/truck-parts/07-16-tundra/pack-racks-07-16-tundra/

The bed of the truck

016626dc879ada2662c091a2a6a34b49.jpg

How the rack bolts through the roof, there's 6 points, 12 bolts.

fc5c49053ee056113b41ea6c57853a95.jpg

Relentless Fabrication crossbar mounting foot.

5acdb02d1393acd357b81bd4b0403ac2.jpg

Thanks everyone! I'll try to sketch something up to give a better idea of what I'm thinking. I'm more looking for suggestions on materials and where to buy them.

eaneumann

Adventurer