A new beginning. 2003 Silverado

Well hello gentlemen.

This is my first build thread here so bear with me. In an effort to have a more useful vehicle for myself and have something more utilitarian I bought an 03 Silverado with 146k last weekend for $7500. I plan to make this vehicle as functional and go anywhere as possible without compromising comfort and daily drive ability. I am an install technician by trade so a lot of this will be geared towards electrical/ electronic upgrades. Anyways. Here is the truck as I bought it.

IMG_0266.jpg

Last edited:

Guess I have to wait until I've been here a while before I can link Photobucket images, oh well. Pictures won't be very organized until then.

Done a few things so far. Added an alarm and remote start, as well as homelink (paranoid about people breaking in and stealing a garage door opener)

511A9560-15ED-4C9F-925E-AA6B008BCB3D_zpsurjkkafu.jpg

Debadged everything including the ugly side moldings and the pin stripe

9C4A3F17-C2A8-43CE-B304-DA1F9515F89C_zpsypk6jugc.jpg

Removed the billet grill (helllo 90's)

0657DB75-8B5B-4082-A0E9-CD43F366B432_zpsxndztvpx.jpg

Added a second battery in the factory location using a factory tray, as well as added a solenoid hidden under the cowl for the second battery.

BD4BA412-8550-4045-89E8-77C205E90C80_zpswjcyzir8.jpg

Second battery will run all accessories so if they kill the battery I can still start the truck. Going to run a 150amp breaker to 4 gauge to feed a rear fuse box I will install in the bed. Fuse box will feed all rear accessories including canopy lighting. These are the canopy light I've ordered, should be able to fit them this week.

491219B8-BE93-4863-B4B6-424D68A58022_zpsj8vdtbqc.jpg

Going to use forklift disconnects for the 4 gauge power and ground feeds from below the bed and then rig up a disconnect for the canopy as well.

70162262_large.jpg