'Burb buying advice

Kyle Kelso

Adventurer
Hey gang

I sold my truck yesterday and I feel pretty confident I want to buy a Suburban. With just my wife's car left I need something to haul our pop up trailer, get us out into the bush and have room for 2 large dogs in their kennels plus our stuff. We only have 1 kid so the 3rd row isn't necessary but I want the cargo space, plus I've been driving full size trucks for several years so even a suburban is downsizing.

I've been back and forth between the 90's gmt400 and the 2000's gmt800 series and also between the 1500 vs 2500. The reality of what we likely WILL do with the vehicle, a 1500 would probably suffice but I would sure like to know I have a stronger tranny and beefier rear end to put a locker in. The 5.3 gets decent enough fuel economy I would be fine daily driving and commuting with it, step into any of the bigger engines and that situation just gets worse...

What I have just found for sale up here in Alberta is a '99 k2500 4x4 out of California with under 100,000 miles with the 454 (7.4) vortec and from the pictures it looks super clean. It is priced lower than the clean gmt800 1500s I have found and with lower mileage. I have not found any clean or decent mileage gmt800 2500 yet.

I don't have anything heavy to tow and I'm not looking for a tow vehicle. Just something strong and reliable that can handle some bigger tires and a small lift with a rear locker and a winch and get us and our stuff out into the wilderness.

If it were just for a camping / trip vehicle I wouldn't think twice, but having to daily drive a 454 has my wallet shaking in fear! I wonder if the extra insurance on a $800 **** box commuter would be cheaper than the extra gas for the big block?

For what it's worth, history will say I'm not the type of person to keep a vehicle for several years despite what I might tell myself and my wife... But I will say I'd like to have this long term if I find the right one!