97 Ford F 350 Camper/Adventure Build

DesertDrifter

Observer
Well after 6 years of lurking, I figured it was about time to start a build thread. I hope the following is a helpful addition to a forum that has been an great asset in the last seven or eight years since I started planning this project. I've made some progress on the build but will share things chronologically to layout the process.

The truck is constantly competing for time with the maintenance of three vintage motorcycles and an old Porsche (all not the most reliable of vehicles) and my full time job, so my progress/updates may be a bit scattered.

I'm by no means a professional fabricator so go easy on me. :sombrero: Thanks in advance for any advice/info you might be able to share, all greatly appreciated!

Alright here goes…

Details on the truck for the record (to be updated with progress):

Truck:
97 Ford F-350 Cab & Chassis
7.3L Powerstroke Diesel
4x4 Manual with a solid axle Dana 60 up front

Suspension:
Front:
Sky Off-road 92-97 F-350 Ford OBS Super Duty Leaf Spring Conversion Shackle Reversal
Bilstein 5100 Shocks
Ford V Code Springs

Rear:
Deaver Spring Custom 11 Leaf Pack Built to Spec
Bilstein 5100 Shocks

Wheels/Tires:
255/100 R16 Michelin XZL clone Yellowsea Tires
Ford 16 Inch Stock Steel 8 Lug Wheels

Other:
TBD

I landed on the F-350 for variety reasons
▪ Total budget for truck and camper of $35,000ish
▪ I still want to be able to do 85 on the freeway, yes, I know thats unsafe ;)
▪ Reliable, relatively simple motor, trans and chassis
▪ Old school Ford OBS style
▪ 5,600 lbs of stock payload capacity

The current version of the always evolving plan is a removable summer/winter camper and a 11ft flatbed both of which will be designed to be somewhat easily swappable.