Mercedes Vario D814 vs D816 vs D818 engine spec differences

tooFATtoDRIVE

All,

I am a newbie here so I would like to say hello!

I have a quick question regarding different variant of Mercedes Vario: D814 vs D816 vs D818. How do the engine specs differ and where does to power difference come from?

I have spent a lot of time on the net trying to find answers to the above question but my search has been fruitless so far. I would be grateful, therefore, for help with finding out the actual differences.

Thanks,

jostein

Adventurer
Useful link:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_Vario

As you can see, the 813, 814, 815, 816 and 818D all use the OM904 engine from 1996 and up.
The core engine is the same, but there are differenceses in Electronics, and also some differences in the diesel injection system as well as the turbo charger based on both model year and state of tune. (OM= Ottomotor / LA = Ladeluftkülher / Abgaslader)

Useful link:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercedes-Benz_Vario

As you can see, the 813, 814, 815, 816 and 818D all use the OM904 engine from 1996 and up.
The core engine is the same, but there are differenceses in Electronics, and also some differences in the diesel injection system as well as the turbo charger based on both model year and state of tune. (OM= Ottomotor / LA = Ladeluftkülher / Abgaslader)
OM stands for oelmotor.

Charlie

olafboswijk

Observer
don't the last two numbers also refer to the horsepower? 814 = 140 horsepower, 816 = 160 horsepower etc.

that's at least what Mercedes told me here in Chile where there a quite a few 818D driving around! which they apparently built here until 2015.
nearly exactly the same vehicles as in Europe, but much newer!

tooFATtoDRIVE