TOTALLY NEW TO COMMS AND NAV, NEED PURCHASE ADVISE

Silverhorse

Adventurer
Need some advise on what to buy? So I plan to get into overlanding in the Southeast U.S. I'll be traveling to places I have never been with my younger(all under 9) children.. Safety and being able to communicate in an emergency are top priority. I have been offroading 30 years but I have NO experience with comms or nav, other than my cell phone and Garmin... :) any advice is greatly appreciated on what to purchase!!

thanks Bill

NW Florida

e60ral

2016 4Runner Trail w/KDSS
I really like Gaia GPS on a tablet for navigation, but if you already have a Garmin you like it may not be necessary

For comms there is pretty good 2m repeater coverage; I would look into getting a 2m or dual band radio and your technician license. Software like CHIRP makes programming radios almost idiot proof. I usually head out solo, and when deciding if a road looks okay to try on my own I try to hit a local repeater that's being monitored (and I always carry enough gear and food/water to shelter comfortable for multiple days in an emergency)

If you want the definite ability to get help, look into the Garmin InReach or the next step up would be a sat phone.

Silverhorse

Adventurer
thank you very much for the info, much appreciated! It would be easier to have the larger screen of a tablet...I will look into said equipment...

LR Max

Local Oaf
In all honesty, except for the deepest hole, I have pretty decent cell reception under most circumstances. Verizon, BTW. But my work phone is AT&T and it has good reception as well, usually.

X2 on Gaia GPS and a tablet. Works well and uses equipment you probably already own. That said, I've had better luck with stand alone GPS units. Better reception. Easier to use. But then again, that is just me.