The Horizon Tour Toyota Tacoma Adventure Build

motolady

The Road is Calling
Hello everyone! I'm brand spankin' new to this site, but know lots of folks who use and love it and decided my upcoming road trip is the perfect reason to sign up. I'm a motorcycle journalist taking off on 3+ month trip where I'll be mostly living out of my Tacoma with my dog (and a motorcycle on the back). There will be lots of little projects for the build out and I figured it would be cool to keep updates here in case my ****-ups help anyone else! I dubbed the trip the Horizon Tour.

Alright, it's a 1998 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 with a 2.7L 4 cylinder engine, 6 ish inch lift (bought it that way), purple SR5 named the Purple Prius Eater. I bought it with 130k miles, it now has 190k.

So far I've dumped a bunch of cash (and time) into it because well, I love the damn thing.
New (45k) import engine
Clutch
Drive shaft rebuild (upgraded U-joints)
Center support bearing
Upgraded struts
Sway bar (other one snapped. yep.)
New tires
Spark plugs & wires, battery cables
IAC clean
Fuel pump

Today I scored an ARE canopy / cap with Thule luggage racks, Smittybuilt 4x2 defender rack complete with four Rigid D-Series spot lights on craigslist. It's even got the kick *** double rear door situation going on. :Wow1:

build-050417-tacoma-canopy1-1300px.jpgbuild-050417-tacoma-canopy2-1300px.jpgbuild-050417-tacoma-canopy3-1300px.jpgbuild-050417-defenderrack-1300px.jpg

Next up I need to see if the mounting bars that came with the luggage rack will work on my truck, and if not modify them to do so. Wire up the lights. Pull off the canopy and pop out the rear dent I have from someone hitting my parked car a while back (no note, super nice) so the canopy seals and sits right.

After that I'm working on figuring out the swing-out motorcycle tow hitch mount and starting on my long to-do list! Including...

solar shower
solar panels