DIY Arduino & Raspberry Pi Security System

jeegro

Adventurer
I've spent many hours researching security systems out there (Viper, etc) and don't really like what I see. All systems seem to have remote start, which I am not interested in, and the business model is geared towards having licensed installers do the work, so you may get stuck if you can't figure out their system. And the remote controls and monitoring are all lacking.

So I thought I could do better. I've never worked with Arduino or Pi, but I am a programmer by trade so it shouldn't be a big learning curve.

The whole system will be self contained in an Arduino for low power consumption. An optional Raspberry Pi will be bolted on to provide web capabilities (event logging, iphone app, video cameras)

Here's a rough sketch of the components.

IMG_0738.jpg

Anyone have ideas, comments, feedback?

rossvtaylor

Adventurer
Hi! Cool idea. But, having worked with Arduino for some prototype production automation, I wouldn't trust Arduino boards for something that required long-term stability and reliability. They occasionally choke and need a reboot, which may not suit your needs as a security hub. Arduino's great, don't get me wrong... And I use name brand boards. But still, it's not as reliable as I'd like if I were building a security system.

We have used Rasberry Pi boxes for web communication interfaces and even those, programmed by people much smarter than I am, had their occasional issues. But, I've never programmed those and don't have much experience beyond field use of the Pi boxes we had.

Good luck, regardless! I'm going to follow along.

jeegro

Adventurer