tablet or laptop for my use?

t4rFL

Adventurer
i am looking for something i can plug an external hardrive into and transfer pics/videos from an SD card while i'm traveling.

i used to have a Dell laptop that I've been using for the past 10 years, but it has finally retired. i recently purchased an HP 2-in-1 that was on sale in hopes of replacing my laptop, but after a few uses i am ready to bash this thing. it keeps on freezing up and is so slow. plus i can't get used to windows 10. if i were to get another laptop it would have to be windows 7. doesn't have to be a 2-in-1 design but they are nice. laptops i've seen at best buy are upwards of $800+.

tablets i know nothing about. can you use them to transfer files from an SD card to external hardrive? i found a few w/ a usb port so i'm assuming you can.

kojackJKU

Autism Family Travellers!
I would take some time, and get used to windows 10. 7 is not going to be supported much longer. I love windows 10. it's awesome. plus there are really cheap apps from the store that are great for editing photos and videos. I have a new dell inspiron 13 5000 that I paid 599.00 for. It's 2 in 1 touchscreen, I installed 16 gb ram and a 2 TB SSHD. It's fast, smooth and lightweight. I would recommend that. In all honesty, windows 10 is the best OS right now. Android tablets are not the best for doing what you want to do. What model HP do you have?

t4rFL

Adventurer
pavilon x360 w/ intel core i3 6gb memory; it was a black friday deal, new, but it's worse then my 10 yr old laptop.

kojackJKU

Hmmm odd. I have a pentium m in mine and its smooth and fast. I wonder if there is something running in the background slowing it down. My wife has the core i3 in her Inspiron 11 3000 and only has 4gb of ram and hers is fast

kojackJKU