Trailer Hitch Hammock Mount

McLean

Hi all! Chris here. I haven’t posted here but have visited many times researching products, projects and solutions. I've always had a passion for vehicles, adventures, and adventures in vehicles and this forum has been a great resource for all the above.

I recently attended the Overland Expo West and NW Overland Rally (both awesome events!) with a product that I have been developing for many years. The feedback I received was phenomenal and many of the folks that I talked to encouraged me to come over here and share it with the community.

I would love to hear your feedback or questions! Thanks!

Here are some of the features:
-Designed for proper geometry of hammock hang
-Easy access for entry/exit from hammock
-Quick Setup and stow operation- less than 20 seconds
-Compact package when stowed- Under 27" when collapsed
-Can stay in hitch when not in use, even during rough terrain travel
-300 lb weight limit
-Complete assembly weighs 46 lbs

1sRxRchl.jpg

ARkaEa9l.jpg

kuxWAkjl.jpg

66Aqfj1l.jpg

-Chris

tlin

Adventurer
Dig it - been waiting for something like these for a couple years. Aluminum version possible?

McLean

Thanks all!

Dig it - been waiting for something like these for a couple years. Aluminum version possible?

Thanks! One of my early prototypes was mostly aluminum but I was unable to get the strength required without a higher strength alloy or much thicker material. Either way would be $$$. I am always looking for improvements but I don't foresee Al being cost effective for this.

-Chris

NikonRon

Adventurer
The problem for me is that it blocks access to the back of the vehicle, I have a Four Wheel camper. Maybe something that could mount to sliders on the side of a rig. Ron

McLean

The problem for me is that it blocks access to the back of the vehicle, I have a Four Wheel camper. Maybe something that could mount to sliders on the side of a rig. Ron