Ford E350 drip rail rust

wera917

Hello Everyone, my name is Mike been a member for a while but this is my first time posting. First, thanks to everyone that contributes to this forum, the build threads have helped me tremendously with my humble plain jane motovan build. Now..onto my problem. My van has the drip rail rust cancer, right now it's only surface rust. Local body shops do not want to give me an estimate saying they do not fix rust so it's on me. I have researched the best way to fix this and found so many conflicting solutions I'm not sure where to start, POR-15? Epoxy Primer? etc.. My goal: stop the rust, keep the van presentable.

My plan, with questions:

1. Remove silicone/caulk from drip rail with drill/wire wheel and other means.
2. Sand down surface rust with DA sander and by hand, what grit to use?
3. Treat area with some sort of cleaner unsure of what, mineral spirits?
4. Spray with epoxy primer, unsure of best kind to use?
5. Follow up with a decent top coat, unsure of what to use here as well.

This is my general outline; you guys can probably tell I do not have body work experience however I will take the time and have the patience to do this right; van must last me a long time.

A few pics:

Plain Jane, under the radar, van is loaded down with bikes in this pic
36123059446_410886d775_z.jpg

Rust :(

35995445582_3d0d3bb188_z.jpg

Thanks everyone for any suggestions :beer:

Mike

rex_1_mn

Observer
I have a couple spots much smaller than yours but I am considering POR 15 then to the body shop for a top coat. I have had great luck with POR on a Skoolie floor as well as axles and underbody parts.

Kenyi

Observer
Hi Mike,

I'm having the same problem.