Getting started with a CB setup

Jesse42

I am heading out on my first group exploring trip in a few weeks and most folks in the group run a CB in their vehicle. I would like to be able to listed to the chatter and also participate, but I have no CB knowledge. I have done some research and most of what I have found is about much more complex systems that what I am hoping to find. With that said, is there a simple cost effective CB setup I can run in my truck for this trip that I take out and put back in for future trips. I am not looking for a ton of range, just enough to stay in touch with a group that is driving together.

My apologies for the basic question. I assume it has been covered before, but I can not seem to find it searching through the archives.

Thanks,
- Jesse

prerunner1982

Adventurer
A cheap Cobra 19 would work fine for you. Magmount antenna is fine. You could even power the CB off the lighter/power port, if you get whine on the CB that changes with the rpm of the engine you may want to wire the CB directly to the battery. I have had some vehicles that do and some that don't when the CB is powered off the lighter/power port. Temporary install easily removed, until you decide if you want a more permanent solution.

Jesse42

Thanks for the feedback.

I suspect this is a loaded question, but how important is the tuning process? Can I get away with buying a magnetic antenna and throwing it on my roof for now? It looks like yet another device (or a much more expensive CB) if I need to get an SWR meter.

- Jesse

ericvs

Def want to tune it. If your friends have CBs they most likely have the SWR meter that is needed. You can also get these for like $25 or so. Should only take a couple minutes to tune it right. it is very easy.

https://youtu.be/YwFPKIjweP8

Longer antennas are easier to tune then shorter ones.