Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Front lower rearmost (frame) control arm bushing replacement question..

Default Front lower rearmost (frame) control arm bushing replacement question..

Hey all. So I'm neck deep in swapping out all four front control arms on my '98 Montero, 155k miles. This is my first go at any real suspension work. I ordered the complete arms from RockAuto, all AC Delco, to save some time vs bushing removal/install on my OEM arms. Convenience over cash as I'm new at this. So.. The rear bushings on the lower control arm are set into the frame. The factory service manual mentions a special tool for removal and recommends removing the differential carrier in order to remove the bushing on the driver side. These bushings don't look terrible and are rubber with a metal sleeve through center. First, did you guys swap these bushings or just the front bushing which is pressed into the lower control arm itself and came installed in the new AC Delco unit..? Should I just leave these lower rear bushings in the frame alone? If I do swap them, am I correct in assuming there is nothing magical about the Mitsubishi special tool and that I can just rent a universal bushing press from parts store? On the surface, removing the differential carrier to access the left side sounds a bit daunting... Whatcha think/experience? Thanks so much.
    1998 Gen 2.5, 155k miles, updating PO's 'deferred maintenance.'

1. I'd replace while you're that far in. Rubber wears with time and environment
    2. Just rent a parts store C-clamp press
    3. The carrier can stay in place. Yes it makes install and removal difficult but not nearly as difficult as moving the carrier

I get them out with a C clamp and a small section of exhaust tubing (for the bushing to press into) with a little plate on it to clamp on. The driver side you can get the new bushing in just un bolting the rear most mount on the front diff.
    NEW! Mitsubishi 4WD Forum!