Going Commando

wild1

Adventurer
After nine years as my daily driver I sold my LJ Rubicon and replaced it with a new 4-Runner Trail. While the Trail is head and shoulders above the LJ as a daily driver I really missed the Jeep as a recreational 4-wheeler. I have been looking for a reasonably priced replacement for the last couple of years and recently found this Jeepster locally,it meet most of my needs and fit my budget . It was a frame off rebuild with a fuel injected Buick v-6, Scout 44's,and a SM 465. Any other expo members running commandos? They seem like a good alternative to the other long wheel based alternatives like Scramblers, CJ 6's and LJ's.

Attachments

• IMG_0865.jpg
    IMG_0865.jpg
    626.7 KB · Views: 49

Zeiderman

Adventurer
Nnice, always liked those, sometimes difficult to find, for some reason there was a whole slew of them at Cruisin the Coast this year, some in actually really, really great condition.

Sent from my SM-T230NU using Tapatalk

unkamonkey

Explorer
Welcome to the club. I have a 1969 that is mostly stock. They are a decent vehicle off road and are great for things like going skiing or to the store in the winter.

wild1

Adventurer
I don't plan on anything too extreme in this rig. I wanted it mostly to tow behind my truck and camper for a gear hauler and shuttle/runaround vehicle. It should tow nicely with the longer wheelbase and it will easily accommodate our kayaks and mt. bikes. It is mostly going to be a forest road cruiser for hunting and fishing. It's a sign of getting old but I actually appreciate the fact that it is not as rugged as my old CJ-5's.

unkamonkey

Explorer
Good luck. I have had to do very little to mine other than putting a flanged rear axle in it. (Not sure how I broke the ring and pinion in the first one?)
I was out at the truck recycling place and found a similar C101 that had been in an accident. Oh, power brakes and a spare tire/gas can carrier.