MPG and Expedtion Campers

VerMonsterRV

Gotta Be Nuts
Hi all, this coming summer I will begin the search for an expedition rv chassis. I plan to get a Total Composites box to put on it. I have been trying to research the various options we have in the USA. My goal with this RV will potentially be a round the world trip including shipping (this winter we will finish a 6 year round the world sailing trip and thought an overland trip might be a good follow up). Since we will be full timing it in the rv we do want a few comforts (full time queen bed, dedicated dinette, wet bath, complete galley with stove/oven, interior storage for folding bikes/backpacking gear and inflatable kayak). I am guessing (since I have no background with off-road driving) that the rv will need to be at least very bad road capable. So, I keep going round and round with different possible chassis, things like 4WD, DPF, payload capacity, MPG and of course cost. My question at this point is this, given my rough requirements above what MPG should I be planning for? I am guessing a F550 will get about 10mpg (at $6 a gallon in Europe this could get costly fast), a Fuso FG maybe a bit more around 14mpg (which would be better but the new models in the USA have some short comings and 2007 and earlier are hard to come by). Any other chassis ideas are welcome, only caveat is they need to be USA available.

Joe917

Explorer
Everything is USA available if it is over 25years old.
Mercedes trucks, 917,1017(available as 4X4) etc will get 13mpg, 1992 and older will burn any diesel and are fully mechanical. There are a few in North America but importing is not that difficult. They are fantastic bad road vehicles.
You can probably find a good candidate in Spain right now and check it out yourself. The added bonus of picking one up yourself is you can get the truck fully checked out and corrected before shipping.
check out mobile.de That is where most European expedition trucks looking for a new home are.

Darwin